top of page

Feeling hot, hot, hot

Literally. It is so hot right now. And as I spent a good chunk of the afternoon with the fan trained directly on me, I started envisioning life before fans. And then I melted a little more.

Brought to you by 90% humidity and a true Minnesotan who does not do well in extreme heat, I give you...

Ladies at the beach

Looks so refreshing to be at the beach in layers of flannel, doesn't it?

Regency ladies weren't in the water, but they were on the beach in the early 1800s. Swimwear started as beachwear. Special walking dresses were designed for ladies to wear while strolling on the beach. With a loose silhouette and lighter fabrics, it was similar to a very long tunic worn over loose pants. (But don't call them pants!)

By the middle of the century, there were legitimate bathing costumes for women. Although, I have my doubts that they were an improvement over the walking dresses since they were made of heavy flannel. (Is anyone else envisioning proper Victorian ladies being dragged under the waves in their layers of propriety?)

Now that the women could (somewhat) swim and play in the water, bathing machines were created to allow them ultimate modesty at the beach. And I'm not going to lie, I kind of want one.

A bathing machine was essentially a private changing room on wheels. After you changed in your stuffy little room, you waited inside while horses (or in some instances, people) pulled your enclosed carriage into the shallow water. Once there, you could open the door and descend the steps right into the surf.

Of course, women wouldn't actually swim until the early twentieth century, so they needed something to do in the water...

Ropes were anchored to buoys in the water. Women could hold on to the rope to avoid being dragged out to sea while they jumped around and played in the waves. In some places, the driver of the bathing machine would assist the lady passenger in tying a rope around her waist and directly to the bathing machine.

I'm not opposed to the idea of tying a rope around my children's waists next time we're at the beach...

bottom of page