top of page

Sticking with you


I have a lengthy list of books I've read, a long list of books I've loved and remember, but I've been thinking about the books that stuck. Do you know what I'm talking about? The book you read that hits you in the gut because it's so powerful, or maybe it speaks truth into your soul at a time in your life when you really needed it. Or maybe it just plain brought you to visit a place that you loved going. Some of the ones that have stuck with me:

'Crossing Oceans' by Gina Holmes

OK, I sobbed my way through this one. It is powerful, heartrending, and beautiful. It makes me want to be the best mom I can be every day.

'Keeper and Kid' by Edward Hardy

I read this one shortly after we adopted our first two boys as toddlers. The whole time I was reading it, I was thinking to myself, 'This writer GETS it. He gets the feelings, the change in your life, the love you have for this little person.' I have no idea if Edward Hardy is an adoptive parent, but he's captured toddler/preschool adoption for better and for worse.

'A Family Forever' by Brenda Coulter

This one makes the list because Brenda Coulter wrote such a heartwarming love story, and managed to break some "rules" along the way. Don't worry, this blog will NEVER have spoilers! I'm just going to say that the twists and turns of this book are so true to real life and really touched my heart.

'Everything's Coming Up Josey' by Susan May Warren

Full disclosure here, I don't think I can make a book list without Susan May Warren ending up on it. Choose any of her books and they are all fantastic! The Josey series stuck with me because it took me to Russia. I started talking to people after reading it as if I had been to Russia and had to catch myself and remember, um, yeah. I've never actually been anywhere near there. But Susan May Warren has a gift for taking readers to a location and immersing them in it.

There's a handful of books I could add to this list, but those are the first four that come to mind when I think of books that have affected me in a lasting way. I would love to hear what books make your list and why!

Blessings,

Kris

bottom of page